Maybe I’m missing something. Why doesn’t Diligent Zookeeper give a +1/+1 to my lands? They are creatures, they are non-human. Is it because forest/mountain etc is not a crature type but a land type? I’m perplexed.

  • Ech@lemmy.ca
    link
    fedilink
    arrow-up
    3
    ·
    5 days ago

    Is it because forest/mountain etc is not a creature type but a land type?

    Yup. It can get confusing when non-creatures are animated, but other card types don’t count as creature types, even if the card becomes one on the battlefield.

    • capetaun@feddit.itOP
      link
      fedilink
      arrow-up
      3
      ·
      5 days ago

      Uff, my draft deck was perfect but then I found out I was wrong on every choice I made. Lesson learned (3-3 so just medium bad result)

  • makeshiftreaper@lemmy.world
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    2
    ·
    edit-2
    5 days ago

    If it helps with your understanding land types are what give the ability to tap for mana on the relevant lands. The text boxes on basic lands is actually empty, and cards like stomping ground only have the enter untapped clause. The reason the land can produce mana is because it is a land and has a basic land type. If either of those stop being true it can’t produce mana anymore

    Different card types and sub-types have different rules implications so they are each in their own category. If you turned an artifact that’s an equipment into a creature that would also not count as a creature type for zookeeper

      • hypnicjerk@lemmy.world
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        2
        ·
        5 days ago

        that would make sense (i’m out of the loop on new cards)

        if that’s the case then yes, i believe land types are not creature types even though they’re on a creature